Snooker Fever Returns To Sheffield

The World Snookers Championships kicked off again on Saturday as world number one Ronnie O’Sullivan looks to defend his title.

The WSC, which is the most prestigious and financially rewarding event in the snooker calendar, will run until May 5th at the Crucible Theatre in Sheffield’s city centre.crucible

The world famous venue has hosted the tournament every year since 1977 and held host to the biggest names in snooker.

Reigning champion Ronnie O’Sullivan is the bookmakers favourite by a large margin with Neil Robertson and Judd Trump the next in line predicted to walk away with the gong.

Kyren Wilson is making his debut at this year’s event after a successful qualifying round at Ponds Forge.

Wilson, 22, who has to balance his training with pulling pints at his local snooker hall, is excited for his first taste of the WSC.

“I’m really excited for it all, the whole experience, everything. It’s the biggest competition in the world for snooker and I just can’t wait to get stuck in.

I’m not using my age as an excuse; I’ve set myself my own personal targets and will be disappointed if I don’t reach them.”

 

The World Snooker Championships are being broadcast live on the BBC throughout the tournament and all games can be accessed via their website at: http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/snooker

About joelsavory

SHU journalism student
This entry was posted in Sport, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment